What is Club 5

It is a union of the leading alpine ski race organizers from all over the world.

When was it founded

It was founded 1988 upon an idea of worldcup founder and sports journalist Serge Lang. Charter members had been the “Five” downhill classic sites in the alps”.

1988 members:

  • Gröden/Gardena (ITA)
  • Garmisch-Partenkirchen (GER)
  • Kitzbühel (AUT)
  • Wengen (SUI)
  • Val d’Isere (FRA)

What was the first goal at the beginning

At the beginning, the aim was to assist each other in getting better income for financing their races (marketing cooperation).

What has changed in the past years

After a few years, the goal of Club 5 changed into the direction of a service corporation for their members.

  • 1994 - Alta Badia (ITA)
  • 1997 - Cortina d’Ampezzo (ITA)
  • 1997 - Kranjska Gora (SLO)
  • 1998 - Schladming (AUT)
  • 1998 - Maribor (SLO)
  • 2003 - Lake Louise (CAN)
  • 2004 - Adelboden (SUI)
  • 2005 - Kvjetfjell (NOR)
  • 2010 - St. Moritz (CH)
  • 2011 - Åre (SWE)
  • 2013 - Zagreb (HR)
  • 2016 - Crans-Montana (CH)
  • 2020 - Madonna di Campiglio (ITA)
  • 2021 - Jasna (SLO) - Affiliated member

Who is representing Club5

The members meet at least twice a year to discuss several matters of alpine ski racing.

The actual president is Srecko Medven from Kranjska Gora, who is a member in this function in the FIS Alpine Ski Wolrd Cup Committee.

Management Director for the financial sector is Hermann Kralinger from Kitzbühel.

Vice Presidents are Peter Fischer (Garmisch-Partenkirchen) and Rainer Senoner (Val Gardena-Gröden).

Honorary members

  • Herwig Grosch, Kitzbühel
  • Hubert Ostler, Garmisch-Partenkirchen
  • Viktor Gertsch, Wengen