World cup races in Kranjska Gora

World cup races in Kranjska Gora in 2019 for the 58th Vitranc Cup were ended in best possible way in front of all together more than 16.000 spectators what is record high in last 7 years.

Giant Slalom on Saturday began with 2 hours of delay because of morning for in the upper part of the race slope. Until 11.30, when the race started fog completely diminished and the sun made a brilliant background for the race. In spring temperatures giant slalom race won Henrik Kristoffersen (NOR), second was his team mate Rasmus Windingstat reaching his first career podium and third Marco Odermatt (SUI). All the racers as well as Chier race director from FIS praised the condition of the race slope. After the victory, Henrik Kristoffersen said: “In Norway we do not have ski courses lying on high altitude, such as in the Alps, so we are most accustomed to ski on salted ski slopes, like the one we had today. This is normal for us.”

Sunday’s slalom was a spectacular race before even bigger crowd of people. GS winner Henrik Kristoffersen was in lead after the first run but the extraordinary 2nd run by Ramon Zehnhausern (SUI) was too quick claiming his maiden slalom victory in FIS alpine ski world cup after his maiden podium in Kranjska Gora last year. 3rd was Marcel Hirscher who secured him the historical 8th overall Alpine ski world cup victory. After his first victory Ramon Zenhaeusern said: “I had to risk a lot in the second run, but it paid off. The track was fast and also great support by excellent fans helped me win. I rally like Kranjska Gora and due to my success here in last two year I think I have to consider buying myself a house here.”

Overall 58th Vitranc Cup winner was Henrik Kristoffersen.World cup races were in this year not the end of alpine ski racing in Kranjska Gora. Moday and Tuesday followed Europa Cup Finals for men in giant slalom and slalom. Temperatures were more winter like therefore the pitch was in excellent conditions. Giant Slalom won Hannes Zingerle (ITA) and slalom race won Jonathan Nordbotten (NOR).